We are so happy to have David home, safe and happy from his adventures in California! My mom just happened to be going into town today, so we went with her to greet David and bring him back home. Sophia was SO happy to see her Dada!

We went out for first lunch at Re:Bar (having an Apogee in the photo above, our favorite! Warm pineapple/ginger/lemon juice, perfect for a January day.) We went for second lunch (we must be part Hobbit) at Cafe Bliss, and of course, we were in Bliss.

Sophia has started to be so very interested in everything that is going on around her, and will pull off my breast mid-nursing for a look around at all the activity. I have been very happy to have a beautiful, soft shawl with me out in public, as nipples feel like the most intimate part, not for leaving out in the open for all to see in this culture! It is enough to be breastfeeding in public. When you start to breastfeed in public, you become aware of just how rare it is to see. Despite how strongly I feel about the importance of breastfeeding, I am not an in-your-face breastfeeding mama at all, and try to do it in a way so that all around me feel comfortable, gentle, gentle, just sitting here nursing my baby! And while I wish that breastfeeding in the open felt normal, rather than a daring act that might bring on some negative energy, we aren’t quite there yet.

I have seen moms sitting in the bathroom at restaurants nursing their babes under shawls, in amongst all the flushing toilets, hand washing, and preening….and that makes me feel a little sad! I don’t feel comfortable nursing out in the wide open with out a shawl yet, but no woman should ever have to feel the need to nurse in the public bathroom! Part of me feels like I should be more daring, more assertive, ready to bare my breast to any situation in order to feed my baby, help to create more awareness and acceptance around the sacred act….and, I’m sure if it came down to it I would. But I find a gentler approach works much better for me, and while I say “Go For It!” to those women who do flow out of their shirts for their sweet nurslings anywhere at anytime, I’ll stick to my cozy shawl for now.

