Summer was Grand.

I am so grateful that we were able to stay on the island, and loved every minute of it. It was short and hot rather than long and mild like many of the summers we get here on the West Coast, and September spent most of its days raining and blowing gales. We took our tent down just in time, the day after a huge wind ripped the tarp from its grommets and left our little summer house open to the wet sky.

So much happened this summer, let me sum it up with some pictures, found here! Needless to say, we are excited about returning to our wild island next spring!

We are now in full on Fall and enjoying the harvest!

Vitamin C.

Rosehip Harvester.

Hawthorn Berry Harvest. I have a new tea in my repertoire…hawthorn berry. Picked today from the field’s edge, I can taste the summer condensed into a mug of fall’s infusion. An amazing heart tonic too!

Hawthorn Berry Harvest.

Peppers at the Market.

Pumpkin at the Market.

Sweet Hugs and Carrot Harvest.

Kale Harvest. (Heather made amazing kale chips!)

Mushrooms! We didn’t harvest these ones, but chantrelles have been abundant on our menu!

Big Mushrooms!

Apple Harvest!

We are currently staying with my mom on Salt Spring Island and David has been working long hours on finishing up the Airstream for our journey South for the winter. We had hopped to be on the road by now, but as is always the case with construction projects, it is taking a lot longer than we predicted! What with all of the curves in that thing (nothing is at right angles) and David’s learning curve (this is his first solo construction project) I think it is coming along beautifully! I have been sewing pillows and curtains whenever I get the chance. I’ll try and post pictures soon!

I must admit that I am fully enjoying the extra time with family as we’ve been floating between Lasqueti, Victoria, and Salt Spring recently. Our chosen “homeless” state has really opened up lots of opportunities to bond with loved ones. You never quite “get” someone in the same way that you do when you share a roof with them! It has, honestly, taken a bit of adjustment. We are so used to knowing people at a distance, and there are very few people who know just how it is that we brush our teeth, what we look like first thing in the morning, the grand scope of all of our moods and colors through out the day, our tiny precious eccentricities,  our preferences about cleanliness, all those little private things that make up daily life as a human. It is a wonderful thing to live with people, something that brings us closer to our hearts and deepens our practice of love.

I’m off to enjoy a mug of hawthorn berry/rosehip tea with my Love David!

Blessings, Katrina.

